UMS is overall dance festival champion

16.12.2014 12



KOTASAMARAHAN: Universiti Sabah Malaysia (Labuan international campus) captured the overall championship title in the IPT Borneo Dance Festival V 2014 with their traditional Kedayan fan dance at UiTM Sarawak campus on Sunday night.

They also brought home the coveted Chief Minister's Cup and RM5,000 cash prize presented to the troupe by Welfare, Women and Family Development Minister Datuk Fatimah Abdullah in a high octane prize presentation ceremony.

In second place was UiTM Sabah that also won the Best Choreography Award with UiTM Sarawak in third place.

Universiti Malaysia Sabah (Labuan international campus) was judged to have the Best Costume in the two-day competition.

This year a total of 12 universities in Borneo took part in the festival. Competing in a single category themed 'Creative Ethnic' were Universiti Malaysia Sarawak, Universiti Malaysia Sabah, Universiti Putra Malaysia (Bintulu campus), Universiti Malaysia Sabah Malaysia (Labuan international campus). Unitar International University (Sarawak), Universiti Teknologi



Universiti Malaysia Sabah (Labuan international campus) performing the traditional Kedayan fan dance at UiTM Sarawak on Sunday night.

Mara (UiTM) Sarawak and UiTM Sabah.

Representing Kalimantan, Indonesia are Universitas Tanjung Pura, Universitas Lambung Mangkurat, Universitas Palangkaraya, Universiti Mulawarman and Universitas Borneo Tarakan.

Judges for the festival came from

the participating universities. Previous winner of the biennial dance festival founded by UiTM Sarawak in 2006 was Universitas Tanjung Pura, Kalimantan Barat that was overall champion in 2006, 2010 and 2012.

In 2008 the overall championship went to Universiti Tun Abdul Razak (Unitar) Sarawak.

The next edition of the IPT Borneo Dance Festival will be hosted by Universiti Mulawarman, Kalimantan Timur in 2016.