

UMS students casting their votes during the Student Representative Council election on Wednesday.

UMS Student Council to focus on volunteerism

KOTAKINABALU: Volunteerism will be one of the main agendas for the newly elected University Malaysia Sabah (UMS) Student Representative Council (MPP), as it contributes to character

building while giving back to society.

New MPP president Mohd Afi Haziq Sapili said he wished to focus on volunteerism during his term as he believed that it would instil good values within the UMS community.

"As an alumnus of the UMS Student Volunteers, I think it's important to increase awareness on the need for volunteerism as it gives great benefit to people as individuals and to society as a whole.

"One of the programmes I already have in mind is to go to five villages simultaneously and do community service there to help the villagers in any way they need." said Afi.

The entrepreneurship major added that he felt fortunate to have been elected president of MPP, and that he would do his best to serve his fellow students as best he could as he knew the role of president carried major responsibilities.

Afi also said he would put more emphasis on fostering integration and inclusiveness during his term, to strengthen the relationship



Afi

between MPP, the students, the faculty and existing clubs on campus.

The Student Representative Council elections, which were carried out concurrently here, in Labuan and Sandakan, went smoothly on Wednesday.

Beginning at 9am and lasting till 7pm, the voting process saw a total of 16 candidates vying for seven general seats contested in the General Campus.

Meanwhile, four candidates competed for two seats in the Labuan International Campus (KAL) and two more candidates for one seat in Sandakan.

A student from the Faculty of Psychology and Education (FPP), Nur Adilah Ismail, led the list of candidates by winning the most votes with a total of 3,831, followed by two male candidates who followed closely with favourable votes; they were Mahussin Wan Zain Wan (3,751) and Mohd Johari Mohd Shafuwan (3,738), respectively.

The four remaining seats were won by Lim Way Yang (3,346), Afi (3,286), Muhammad Naqueeb Abdul Rahman (3,223) and Syabira Nur Anis Mohd Rodzi (2,810).

Two more general UMSKAL seats are held by Mohd Fadzil Mohd Arfah and Husna Izzati Abdullah, while the single chair at the Sandakan branch belongs to Hidayahtul Ain Nur Anuar.

As for faculty chairs, as many as 22 seats were contested in each faculty, including two seats allocated by the Postgraduate School.

Announcement of the results was completed by deputy vice-chancellor (Student Affairs and Alumni) UMS, Professor Dr Ismail Ali at the UMS Library Auditorium.

He also announced an increase in the percentage of students who voted this year at 57.1 per cent, compared to only 38 per cent last

Also present were the chairman of the PMPP Executive Committee for the 2016/2017 session, Professor Dr. Rasid Mail and head of the General Student Affairs Department, Azmi Jumat.