## 100 underprivileged students enter UMS

**ROTA KINABALU:** Ejieta Dona Thow felt chills as she nervously stepped into the Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) entrance gates for the first time yesterday.

The 20-year-old had only seen the university from the outside during her rare visits to the city and never thought she would ever have the chance to further her studies there.

"I feel a bit scared whether or not I could succeed here," said Ejieta whilst wiping her tears.

Ejieta grew up with her grandparents at a home without electricity, where fetching water from the river was a norm in Kampung Lugu, away from her three younger siblings as well as her separated housewife mother and farmer father.

Her former school, SMK Pitas 11, is located 12km away from her home and it takes an hour and a half to reach a proper road, which is about 30km from the house.

Despite the hardship, Glieta managed to complete her studies and scored a 67 CGPA for her STPM examination.

"I received an SMS (text nessage) and was shocked. I ried and told my parents, and ney urged me to seize the chance o study," said the lass, who had been working in the city and as initially hesitant to leave or family to continue with her tudies.

Ejieta said her relatives and mily had together collected M400 to help her manage her penses while preparing for the first day of her three-year journey to attain a Bachelor of



Ejieta

Arts (Honours) in UMS.

"I want to make full use of this opportunity. If I could, I would like to help my family after this," she smiled as she wiped away tears of happiness.

The Pitas lass is one of the 100 students registered in the new UMS students intake 2016/2017 academic session under the Bottom 40% Household Category (B40), an initiative by the university to ensure underprivileged students would be able to continue their tertiary education.

Students who made the cut hailed from Beaufort (5), Keningau (1), Kinabatangan (3), Kota Belud (4), Kota Kinabalu (2), Kota Kinabatangan (3), Kota Marudu (8), Kudat (12), Kunak (3), Kundasang (1), Lahad Datu (3), Nabawan (7), Papar (2), Penampang (1), Ranau (3), Sandakan (2), Semporna (9), Tambunan (4), Tamparuli (1), Tawau (3), Telupid (8) and Tenom (15).