UMS Kids Football Fiesta 2012 ends on high note

BY FRANCIS XAVIER francis@newsabah-

KOTA KINABALU: The UMS Kids Football Fiesta 2012 ended successfully at the UMS Stadium yesterday.

Organised by the UMS Sports Centre in conjunction with the varsity's 14th Convocation Ceremony, the fiesta attracted 62 teams with over 200 budding talents in the fray.

"This fiesta is one good avenue to help encourage schoolchildren taking up the sport. It also gives them the opportunity to enjoy the game, and let them feel the tournament environment at young age," said UMS Sports Centre Director Mohd Asyraaf Abdullah yesterday.

"They also know now the competition system, and how the game is played," he added.

The fiesta featured three categories - Under-8, 10 and

The Under-8 and 10 categories are played on a three-on-three format while Under-12 five versus five.

SK Likas A emerged as the winner of the Winner's Pool of the Under-12 category fol-

lowed by TABS KK A in second while SK Likas B third times.com NST 22-10-2012 23 and Kids Cobra FC fourth.

> The Kids Ball won the Loser's Pool followed by Tunas Menggatal A, TABS KK and TABS Tuaran in second, third and fourth respectively.

> Xavier X Cico from TABS KK A won the Best Player Award for the Under-12 category.

TABS KK A walked home with the Winner's Pool title in the Under-10 category. SK Likas finished in second followed by Barcelona and Chelsea in third and fourth respectively.

The Loser's Pool title went to TABS KK E while TABS. KK B in second and Real Madrid third.

Mohd Azim Azizi Ridwan was awarded with the Best Player award.

In the Under-8 category, TABS KK made a top three finish with its C team winning the crown while E team in second and D team in third. Jubilo FC was fourth.

Manchester United B claimed the Loser's Pool title while Real Madrid second and TABS Tuaran third followed by Liverpool D in fourth.

Erwin was the Best Player for the category.



ON THE PODIUM ... winners of the Under-10 category during the prize giving ceremony.

Luc //-Vear-old also ne- 1016 since 1



WELL DONE ... Mohd Asyraaf presents the Best Player Award to Erwin.