Share

## Upgrade MyRa to Five Star Rating: Vice-Chancellor

0

Tw eet

Share

Published: Friday, 25 April 2014 15:31 | 🔁 Print | Hits: 1690



Recommend



**FRIDAY, 25 APRIL** – Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Datuk Dr. Mohd. Harun Abdullah called on all Schools, Centres, Institutes and Units (SPIU) in UMS to strive towards increasing their research based on the Malaysian Research Instrument outlined by the Ministry of Education (MoE).

0

G+ Share

He said, through the seven main criteria outlined in MyRa such as the quantity and quality of researchers, quantity and quality of education, quantity and quality of postgraduate students, number of innovations, income generation through commercialisation and professional

services, network and research network, and accredited laboratory and library facilities, UMS scored a three star rating in the self-assessment last year.

"This is the highest achievement so far, and if every SPIU cooperate and work hard to plan and execute research activities, we could then achieve a five star rating in the MyRa score, which would contribute towards excellence in research and innovation of the university," he said. He said this when officiating the UMS Researchers Awards 2013 at Dewan Bankuasi (Banquet Hall).

He added that with the establishment of three new units; the Food Safety and Technology Unit under the School of Food and Nutrition (SSMP), Energy Research Unit under the School of Engineering and Information Technology (SKTM), and the Borneo Archeological Research Unit under the School of Social Sciences (SSS), which added to 18 research units in UMS that would encourage research and innovation efforts.

At the award ceremony, SKTM lecturer, Kenneth Teo Tze Kin was declared the winner of the Researcher Award in the Science Category for the year 2013, whilst School of Science and Technology (SST) lecturer, Dr. Chong Khim Phin was awarded the Young Researcher Award for the Science Category 2013. The School of Psychology and Social Work lecturer, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Balan A/L Rathakrishnan was awarded the Hopeful Researcher for 2013. – MA (*fl*)

Media and Citra Division Chancellery Department