UMS Organises International Bowling Championship

Published: Wednesday, 03 September 2014 11:56 | 🔁 Print | Hits: 1192

Tw eet

Share G+ Share 0



WEDNESDAY, 3 SEPTEMBER – The passion, commitment and cooperation shown by members of the Tenpin Bowling Club Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) in organising the Open International Tenpin Bowling Championship received praises for successfully bringing together more than 100 local and foreign participants qualified to enter the finals.

More interestingly, this tournament was also participated by top names in bowling such as Mika Koivuniemi from Finland, Paeng Nepomuceno and Biboy Rivera from the Philippines and Wang Yu-ling

from Taiwan.

The tournament, which began on 26 August ended on 31 August at the Centre Point, Kota Kinabalu in conjunction with Malaysia's 57th Independence Day celebration and offered a total cash prize of RM240,850 as well as motorcycles and bicycles.

Two categories namely Graded, opened to local players and International Open for players who were qualified after the heats.

Organising Chairman, Awang Suhaizam said this international tournament was the first organised by the club and received overwhelming response especially from local bowling fans.

"The organising this time was in conjunction with UMS 20th years of establishment this year. Through the involvement of participants, we helped promote UMS to the community," he said.

He added that the tournament was sanctioned by the Malaysian Tenpin Bowling Congress (MTBC), the Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) and the World Tenpin Bowling Association (WTBA).

He added that this tournament was also endorsed by the Malaysian Tenpin Bowling Congress (MTBC), the Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) and the World Tenpin Bowling Association (WTBA).

"Due to the success and support, this tournament will be organised once in two years," he added.

The tournament also received sponsorship from Sabah GWGFx BBH Group Sabah as the main sponsor and FADA Engineering and Asli Jati Engineering as co-sponsors.

As for the open category, Mika Koivuniemi emerged champion with a record of 2273 points and took home cash prize of RM24,000, while the Graded category was won by Sheridan Abd. Latiff who took home cash prize of