10 Faculties Declared

Published: Tuesday, 06 May 2014 15:08 | — Print | Hits: 8624





TUESDAY, 06 MAY – In line with the academic transformation in conjunction with the 20th anniversary of Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS), the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Datuk Dr. Mohd. Harun Abdullah today declared the newly structured 10 faculties in a formal ceremony at Dewan Resital, UMS.

The use of 'faculty' will substitute 'school' which had been in use since the establishment of UMS. The transformation also saw the restructuring of 13 existing schools into 10 faculties.

The 10 faculties are Faculty of Science and Natural Resources, which is a combination of the School of Science and Technology and the School of International Tropical Forestry; Faculty of Humanities, Arts and Heritage which is a combination of School of Social Sciences and School of Arts; Faculty of Psychology and Education a combination of School of Psychology and Social Work and School of Education and Social Development.

School of Engineering and Information Technology is now known as Faculty of Engineering, Labuan School of Science Informatics is changed to Faculty of Computing and Informatics; School of Sustainable Agriculture to Faculty of Sustainable Agriculture, School of Food Science and Nutrition to Faculty of Food Science and Nutrition, School of Business and Economics to Faculty of Business, Economics and Accounting, Labuan School of Business and Finance to Faculty of International Finance Labuan and School of Medicine to Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Datuk Harun said in his speech after reaching the age of 20, it was timely that UMS academic entity be revised to strengthen the ecosystem for undergraduate and postgraduate studies.

"In other words, UMS need academic transformation to ensure we remain relevant, referred to and respected," he stressed.

According to him, this transformation was to tackle the challenges ahead, among which were globalisation of higher education, internationalisation of higher education, the issue of graduates employability, high expectation by stakeholders, and the reduction of central provisions.

At the ceremony, Datuk Harun also presented Letter of Appointments to the 10 deans of the faculties. The Deans are Assoc. Prof. Dr. Baba Musta who will head the Faculty of Science and Natural Resources, Prof. Dato' Haji Mohd. Hamdan Hj. Adnan as the Dean for Faculty of Humanities, Arts and Heritage, Prof. Dr. Ismail Ibrahim as the Dean of Faculty of Psychology and Education, Prof. Ir. Dr. Rosalam Sarbatly as Dean of Faculty of Engineering, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ag. Asri Ag. Ibrahim as the Dean of Faculty of Computing and Informatics.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Azwan Awang is appointed the Dean of the Faculty of Sustainable Agriculture, Assoc. Prof. Dr.

Sharifuddin Md. Shaarani as Dean of the Faculty of Food Science and Nutrition, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Rasid Mail as the Dean of the Faculty of Business, Economics and Accounting, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Syed Nasirin Syed Zainol Abidin as the Dean of Faculty of International Finance Labuan and Prof. Dr. D. Kamarudin D. Mudin as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences.

The change of name will take effect on 1 June. -MA (fl)

Media and Citra Division Chancellery Department