Team 1UMS represents Sabah at Shell Eco-Marathon Asia

NST 1/7/2011 16

KOTA KINABALU: Team 1UMS from Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) will be among the hundreds of Asian students teams to converge in Kuala Lumpur this month for the Shell Eco-Marathon Asia.

The event is designed to address the global energy challenge and help the world meet its growing desire for mobility in a more sustainable way.

Led by team manager, Agnesius Muslin, the team will be hoping for a better performance this year, having had a good run at last year's event.

"We are excited to be competing with the best from Asia again, in the Prototype category for futuristic, streamlined vehicles which maximise fuel efficiency through innovative design elements.

"This year, we will showcase the "Axolot," a car inspired by the neotenic mole salamander, an endangered aquatic species," he said.

Team advisor, Assoc Prof. Dr.Rosalam Hj. Sarbatly, Dean of the School of Engineering and Information Technology said that UMS is always supportive of such activity which promotes innovation and teamwork among them in line with the vision of the School and UMS.

Some of the design elements such as engine modification and chassis

design were adopted as part of the students' Final Year Projects which involved 23 mechanical engineering students.

According to Syamshul Rashid who heads the designing team, the UMS car is unique and different from that of the other teams in terms of design and performance.

He added that learning from last year's experience they have added modifications to the engine for better fuel efficiency and to the overall design and make of the body for better stability and safety while achieving better aerodynamics.

"With its distinct military camouflage patterns, it will stand out in the crowd." he remarked.

"The designing and team planning actually started in August last year while the prototyping started two months ago.

"We hope our participation in the event will intensify interest in research and innovation particularly in automotive technology and energy efficiency among the younger generation as well as to encourage the involvement of industries in student and university activities," said activity advisor, Engr. Chua Bih Lii who lectures at the School of Engineering and Information Technology.

The team hopes to record a better performance this year with a petrol consumption of 300km/liter or better.

"The long term objective is for us to build the most efficient petrol fuel prototype car in Asia and henceforth develop a sustainable prototype car using renewable energy. For the



The UMS team with the prototype car (#023) at Sepang. The members are (from left) Chin Kah Shiuan, Syamshul, Lee Kok How, Mohd Nasib and Agnesius.

record, last year the team achieved the second lightest car in the competition (47kg), modular concept (where the whole car can be dismantled to ease transportation).

The car recorded a maximum speed of 54km/hr on the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) track, passing all safety and maneuvering tests but unfortunately failed to record an official fuel usage as the car had some technical problems while on the track, Chua said.

Some 100 teams from 13 countries and regions around Asia will gather for the Shell Eco-marathon Asia, from July 7-9 at SIC.

In addition to prizes for vehicles which can go furthest using the least amount of energy, awards are also provided for off-track performance including innovation and design. Designed specifically to inspire the youthful participants to develop new approaches to sustainable mobility, this real-world engineering challenge encourages innovation and reinforces conservation amongst the teams as they strive to come up with the most energy efficient vehicle.

The event marks the second time that Shell Eco-marathon Asia will be held in Kuala Lumpur, host venue for 2010 -2012.

The event has been running in Europe since 1985 and the United States since 2007, and was held for the first time in Asia at SIC last year.



1UMS Team with the Axolot. The members comprised (from left) Chua Bih Lii, Javier Isaac, Syamshul Rashid, Agnesius Muslin, Mohd Nasib Syamsudin and Hasmil Hussein.