

Eco cars at the Malaysian showcase: (left to right in white t-shirts): Rowina Ghazali, General Manager Corporate Affairs, Shell Malaysia; Anuar Taib, Chairman, Shell Malaysia; Datuk Hj Fadillah bin Yusof, Deputy Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation; and Datuk Dr Zainal Abidin Hj Kassim, Vice Chancellor, Universiti Teknologi Petronas, together with the drivers and their vehicles from Universiti Tenaga Nasional (far left and far right), Universiti Teknologi Malaysia and Shell (red car).

## UMS among Malaysian teams to build world's most energy efficient vehicle

PUTRAJAYA: Shell Malaysia yesterday held a symbolic send off for student teams representing Malaysia in the Shell Ecomarathon Asia 2011 to be held at Sepang International Circuit from July 6-9.

The flag off was officiated by Deputy Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Hj Fadillah bin Yusof and Shell Malaysia chairman Anuar Taib. The Malaysian contingent comprises teams

from 16 universities across Malaysia and will compete against 93 other teams from the rest of Asia.

Malaysia will send the largest number of teams in the competition with 23.

Shell Eco-marathon is a unique competition that challenges students to build a vehicle that can travel the furthest using the least amount of fuel.

As an educational project that encourages and fosters innovation in exploring potential solutions to both current and future transport and energy challenges, Shell Ecomarathon is an inspiring element of Shell's "Smarter Mobility" approach to speed up the global shift to cleaner, more energyefficient road transport.

The Malaysian contingent is drawn from Curtin University of Technology Sarawak, International Islamic University Malaysia, Multimedia University, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Taylor's University. Universiti Malaysia Pahang. Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM), Universiti Malaysia Sabah, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Universiti Sains Malaysia, Universiti Teknologi MARA Malaysia (UiTM), Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman, Universiti Tenaga Nasional, University of Malaya, University Technology of Petronas, and UTM International Campus.