## 1Malaysia Monument to reflect UMS' education programmes

KOTA KINABALU: It was a historical day for the Universiti Malaysia Sabah Language Teaching Methodology Centre (LTMC) when it launched its 1 Malaysia Monument vesterday.

Standing at five feet x two feet, the monument reflects the centre's education programmes that are based on the spirit of patriotism, understanding as well as appreciating history and cultural heritage of the people in the country.

UMS vice chancellor Professor Datuk Seri Panglima Dr Kamaruzaman Ampon, who launched the monument, said this also marked its special feature as a leading centre to offer 10local and foreign language courses to students.

"We need a symbol that reminds us about our multiracial societies in Malaysia. and how we can live as one and share a common aspiration to develop the country." said Kamaruzaman, adding that himself wore 1Malaysia badge constantly remind himself his role in the community.



The UMS 1Malaysia Monument.

As a centre that implements programmes based on 'humanising men', the LTMC also hopes to produce graduates who are able to converse in English and other foreign languages.

LTMC offers three courses - Compulsory, Languages and Humanity Skills. They also offer 11 language courses, namely English, Arabic, Kadazan, Japanese, Malay, Mandarin, French, Russian, Spanish, Korean and Tamil.

Meanwhile, LTMC's dean Associate Professor Drusmail Ali said the centre had demonstrated its commitment by organising the National 1Malaysia Seminar for two days beginning Nov 1, 2010, where a total of 101 working papers were presented.

According to Ismail. through the seminar, they hoped to gather views and information from the academic professionals to overcome problems and confusions related to the 1Malaysia concept. identify issues challenges in implementing the concept, which is the brainchild of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, and enrich the intellectual content on 1Malaysia.

The UMS LTMC was formed in 1994 with the aim of offering the university's core courses to all students from the various schools within the campus.

There are 11 schools in the main Kota Kinabalu campus comprising six science-based and five literature-based schools.